Evil Avatar  

Go Back   Evil Avatar > Blogs > sai tyrus

Rate this Entry

And now for some real shit...

Posted 09-19-2011 at 01:23 PM by sai tyrus

I figured I'd deviate from the norm and post some real shit for once.

Of late, I've come to realize two things.

1. I may have some form of post-traumatic stress disorder.

2. I probably have some form of depression.

Let's address item 1. I'm a nurse. I've been doing this for about five years. I've worked ICU for the past three, with a focus on Surgical Oncology over the past year. My biggest issue (among the many) I have regarding what I do is that I see people die. A LOT. When I started off, I had some issues with it. Then I got to a point where I was able to compartmentalize it, and keep work in a separate box from my personal life.

But of late it's gotten pretty hard for me. It's horrible to bust your ass to save someone's life, only to see them die. Or to deal with the grief of patients and families. It wears on you. I didn't realize how much it was wearing on me until the other night when I was going over work with my wife. I just broke down and started crying. There was this huge outpouring of emotion that I didn't even know I had inside of me. It felt good to let it out.

I've been very unappreciative of my career many times. It wasn't what I wanted to do with my life. But here I am. And there's lots of opportunities. More than anything though, it allowed me to meet the amazing woman I have as my wife.

On the PTSD thing, it's funny, because I used to think such a thing could only happen to soldiers. I've been blessed not to be under the stress our service men and women may experience. I'm glad there are people out there to shoulder that burden. I wouldn't say what I experience is even in the same category. But I can tell you, it's weary-some and sad.