Evil Avatar

Evil Avatar (http://www.evilavatar.com/forums/index.php)
-   News Items (http://www.evilavatar.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   See Rockstar's Wild West epic in 4K, at 60fps (http://www.evilavatar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263383)

Evil Avatar 10-17-2019 08:35 AM

See Rockstar's Wild West epic in 4K, at 60fps
 

Quote:

Unsurprisingly, the game has been enhanced for the PC, not just with additional singleplayer stuff, but also a suite of graphical enhancements, including:
  • Increased draw distanc
  • "Higher quality" global illumination and ambient occlusion
  • "Improved" snow trails
  • "Improved" reflections and higher resolution shadows
  • Tessellated tree textures
  • "Improved" grass and fur textures
  • HDR support
  • Unlocked resolution (4K and higher)
  • Ultrawide aspect ratio and multi-monitor support
  • Unlocked framerate
Despite all that, the system requirements look pretty reasonable—as long as you've got the space for 150GB of videogame.

Red Dead Redemption 2 arrives on PC on November 5 on both the Rockstar Game Launcher and Epic Games Store. A Steam release will follow in December.
PC Gamer.

brandonjclark 10-17-2019 08:55 AM

150gb?!?!?!


Holy hell

BadIronTree 10-17-2019 09:27 AM

150 GB with the multiplayer ?
Can we chose what to install ? like the good old days ? :D

brandonjclark 10-17-2019 09:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadIronTree (Post 2546374)
150 GB with the multiplayer ?
Can we chose what to install ? like the good old days ? :D

Ahh, the good ole days...


wunshot 10-17-2019 01:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brandonjclark (Post 2546375)
Ahh, the good ole days...




That's hilarious. Speaking of the good old days....I just played a throwback game called Amid Evil. Quakeish with the coolest level design ever. Check it out.

https://www.pcgamer.com/amid-evil-review/

Terran 10-17-2019 02:29 PM

Why does System Requirements Lab say my GeForce GTX 950 doesn't meet minimum specs when it requires a 770 minimum? Am I missing something?

It's quite possible I'm missing something, lol. Meets all the other minimums...

From the test: "Minimum: Nvidia GeForce GTX 770 2GB / AMD Radeon R9 280
You Have: GeForce GTX 950."

Ghostblaze 10-17-2019 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brandonjclark (Post 2546372)
150gb?!?!?!


Holy hell

Pretty much how it was on the PS4 size wise. Sold my PS4 version. Guess I'll be saddling up for my PC!

wunshot 10-17-2019 06:28 PM

Wow that looks amazing in 4k.

brandonjclark 10-17-2019 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wunshot (Post 2546409)
Wow that looks amazing in 4k.

I'm building a rig in March for this. Not kidding.

vallor 10-17-2019 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brandonjclark (Post 2546417)
I'm building a rig in March for this. Not kidding.

I have the rig for it right now. Depending on price I may pick it up day one.

Dag-Sabot 10-17-2019 07:54 PM

Makes the console version look like minecraft

wunshot 10-17-2019 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brandonjclark (Post 2546417)
I'm building a rig in March for this. Not kidding.

Finally get a chance to put my 2080 to the test. :)

Sir_Smokes_Alot 10-17-2019 08:40 PM

Bin waiting for this about damn time Rock Star

Ghostblaze 10-17-2019 09:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir_Smokes_Alot (Post 2546424)
Bin waiting for this about damn time Rock Star

Arriving way sooner than anyone imagined.

ElektroDragon 10-17-2019 11:15 PM

Whatever, it looks just fine on Xbox One X on my 77" OLED.

ElektroDragon 10-17-2019 11:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dag-Sabot (Post 2546419)
Makes the console version look like minecraft

In your dreams. If I had a high end PC (which I do, but PCs suck for gaming in 2019) or my Xbox One X running side by side on my 77" OLED I bet I couldn't tell the difference.

RAV 10-17-2019 11:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terran (Post 2546399)
Why does System Requirements Lab say my GeForce GTX 950 doesn't meet minimum specs when it requires a 770 minimum? Am I missing something?

It's quite possible I'm missing something, lol. Meets all the other minimums...

From the test: "Minimum: Nvidia GeForce GTX 770 2GB / AMD Radeon R9 280
You Have: GeForce GTX 950."

I assume your CPU and Windows version are also okay.
The most likely reason could be the 150 GB free space on harddisk requirement.
It's massive, people already complained about it, but at least the game looks worth it. I would need to buy a new ssd to play it though.

Rommel 10-18-2019 04:19 AM

150 gb... we're going to start needing installers that only install the assets needed by setting.

Terran 10-18-2019 05:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RAV (Post 2546437)
I assume your CPU and Windows version are also okay.
The most likely reason could be the 150 GB free space on harddisk requirement.
It's massive, people already complained about it, but at least the game looks worth it. I would need to buy a new ssd to play it though.

Thank you, but my failure is on the gpu. Everything else passed.

Oddly, I have a 950, which I believe is a more recent edition than the minimum 770 (I don't follow this stuff religiously), so I'm confused. :confused:

RAV 10-18-2019 07:12 AM

Weird, but ya your 950 should work, be it on low settings. I just checked if there is a difference in amount of vram between 770 and 950, but they are both at 2 GB, which is the bare minimum for today's triple A titles.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 AM.