Evil Avatar  



Go Back   Evil Avatar > Geek Love > PC Hardware and System Building

» Sponsored Links


» Recent Threads
DOOM Eternal New...
Last post by Evil Avatar
Today 09:20 PM
3 Replies, 83 Views
Liberals gone wild
Last post by Eats
Today 08:47 PM
5,799 Replies, 1,287,207 Views
Bad Boys for Life Kills...
Last post by Inkabodcrane
Today 05:07 PM
16 Replies, 601 Views
Dying Light 2 Delayed to...
Last post by DingBat
Today 03:24 PM
6 Replies, 388 Views
Guns Akimbo Trailer
Last post by Evil Avatar
Today 08:27 AM
22 Replies, 1,636 Views
Picts - Waiting to...
Last post by BeardedSonOfNel
Today 07:45 AM
19,087 Replies, 3,975,979 Views
HBO's Controversial...
Last post by Inkabodcrane
Today 06:24 AM
32 Replies, 1,486 Views
Join Disintegration’s...
Last post by MavenACTG
Today 01:05 AM
2 Replies, 283 Views
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2017, 09:43 PM   #1
Anemone
Evil Dead
 
Anemone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Autarchist
Posts: 6,092
Blog Entries: 3
Georgeous Corsair 570X Tempered Glass Case, but...



Help me out here.

I love the concept of this tempered-glass case, it's gorgeous!

But how are you living without a bluray drive? In fact, many high-end cases seem to be doing away with this as if it were a luxury.



Is that slot in the back supposed to be for a vertical bluray drive???

How do you guys live without a Bluray drive? Do people really feel they don't need them anymore?
__________________
Member of the Nintendo Offensive Front.
Anemone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 11:38 PM   #2
Jotoco
Evil Dead
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Campo Grande, MS - Brazil
Posts: 1,752
My previous two laptops have never ever had their disc drives used. Both Blu-ray capable. 6 years since I used a disc for anything other than my PS4.

My (now deceased)desktop PC has no disc drive as well.

My current notebook (surface pro4) doesn't have one either.
Jotoco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 12:21 AM   #3
Anemone
Evil Dead
 
Anemone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Autarchist
Posts: 6,092
Blog Entries: 3
How do you even install windows on a system with no drive???
__________________
Member of the Nintendo Offensive Front.
Anemone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 12:23 AM   #4
vallor
Michael Bay Fanboi
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I-90 Homeless Camp, Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemone View Post
How do you even install windows on a system with no drive???
Windows can install from USB/external drive or from a network drive.
vallor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 01:18 AM   #5
Anemone
Evil Dead
 
Anemone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Autarchist
Posts: 6,092
Blog Entries: 3
Can you buy a Windows install USB from MS?
__________________
Member of the Nintendo Offensive Front.
Anemone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 03:53 AM   #6
Rommel
International Playboy
 
Rommel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 10,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemone View Post
Can you buy a Windows install USB from MS?
Yes, you can. You can also buy the ISO digitally and make your own.
__________________
Quotes in context.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel View Post
drive into the daughter's womb proper, fill the uterus with the dick snot
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwyluie View Post
Rommel gave the right answer
*Not in context
Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:48 AM   #7
screwyluie
Evil Dead
 
screwyluie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 2,423
and that vertical slot in the back is for the motherboard I/O panel.
__________________
2017 MWC
2017 GDC
2017 PAX East
screwyluie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:13 AM   #8
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemone View Post
Can you buy a Windows install USB from MS?
To be honest, I'm very surprised you didn't know you could install from a USB drive.

Hell, 15 years ago I installed windows from one laptop to another by setting up a domain and pushing the install via a crossover cable and RIS.
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:25 AM   #9
PacerDawn
Choadwanger
 
PacerDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemone View Post
But how are you living without a bluray drive? In fact, many high-end cases seem to be doing away with this as if it were a luxury.
I recently got to an Alienware R6 Aurora and it doesn't come with a bluray drive. So I just ran down to Best Buy:

LG - 8x External USB 2.0 Blu-ray Disc Double-Layer DVD±RW/CD-RW Disc Rewriter - Black



I like this option better because my notebook doesn't have an optical drive either so this covers me everywhere.

The bluray wasn't my main issue. My main issue is that the R6 Aurora has only a SINGLE standard size drive bay, while it has 3 NOTEBOOK size drive bays. WTF? This is a desktop! I didn't get any HD's with this because I have had several drives ready to slot into this thing, and then I get it and to my surprise -- I can only use one of them! Dell bastards...
__________________
Why isn't the word "gullible" in the dictionary?
PacerDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:48 AM   #10
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,084
never owned a single bluray disc, never will
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:05 AM   #11
screwyluie
Evil Dead
 
screwyluie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 2,423
I own plenty of bluray discs, but playing them on a pc, just like dvd's before them, is troublesome thanks to the DRM. It's really not worth the effort unless it's a laptop and you're traveling. Otherwise you'd rather watch it on the big screen with nice speakers and all that jazz.

question for you bjc...
Quote:
15 years ago I installed windows from one laptop to another by setting up a domain and pushing the install via a crossover cable and RIS.
why? just to prove a point?
I used to copy the install disc to hard drives and install that way... it was so much faster than installing from the cd back in the day.
__________________
2017 MWC
2017 GDC
2017 PAX East
screwyluie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:19 AM   #12
brandonjclark
Evil Dead
 
brandonjclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwyluie View Post
I own plenty of bluray discs, but playing them on a pc, just like dvd's before them, is troublesome thanks to the DRM. It's really not worth the effort unless it's a laptop and you're traveling. Otherwise you'd rather watch it on the big screen with nice speakers and all that jazz.

question for you bjc...

why? just to prove a point?
I used to copy the install disc to hard drives and install that way... it was so much faster than installing from the cd back in the day.
Great question! Friend brought over laptop which had no ports working and was stuck in a boot cycle. The only thing I could do was boot from network!
__________________
~B$
Gamertag: legisilverback | Steam Nickname: brandonjclark
...playing Rebel Galaxy
brandonjclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:20 PM   #13
Rommel
International Playboy
 
Rommel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 10,290
For the love of... Do you lot know anything about the devices you use ALL DAY EVERY DAY?!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemone View Post
Is that slot in the back supposed to be for a vertical bluray drive???
As luie states, it's for the I/O panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PacerDawn View Post
The bluray wasn't my main issue. My main issue is that the R6 Aurora has only a SINGLE standard size drive bay, while it has 3 NOTEBOOK size drive bays. WTF? This is a desktop! I didn't get any HD's with this because I have had several drives ready to slot into this thing, and then I get it and to my surprise -- I can only use one of them! Dell bastards...
Those are hard drive bays for SSDs, you ninny.
__________________
Quotes in context.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel View Post
drive into the daughter's womb proper, fill the uterus with the dick snot
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwyluie View Post
Rommel gave the right answer
*Not in context
Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 03:08 PM   #14
PacerDawn
Choadwanger
 
PacerDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel View Post
Those are hard drive bays for SSDs, you ninny.
I am a ninny! Thank you for noticing!

Actually, I think they did it because they wanted all that room for a second graphics card, but they didn't want to make the case bigger. I mean, you can put a 2.5" disk into a 3.5" bay. Just not the other way around. Not without the need for medical assistance at least. I know this for a fact due to an inappropriate experience I had at an old job, when I tried to put my 5.25" floppy into the receptionist's 3.5" drive. It was then that I understood why she kept a crimping tool at her desk.

I don't need all those SSD's anyway. Despite the durability due to not having moving parts, the limited writes afforded by NAND scares the crap out of me, so I only look to SSD's for storage rather than using them as active drives.

That said, I do have a small (500gb) SSD that I use as my main drive for speed, but most everything I do is on the (single and forever lonely) disk and spindle.
__________________
Why isn't the word "gullible" in the dictionary?
PacerDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.